Internet Business Blueprint

Internet Marketing, Viral List Building, Social Media Mastery

Internet Business Blueprint - Internet Marketing, Viral List Building, Social Media Mastery

Google’s New Privacy Policy and Your Search Privacy

Call it ‘just in time’ but I logged into all of my Google accounts and cleared my browsing history and ‘paused’ the future collection of my surfing data. I was pretty surprised to see that in my primary account contained history dating back to November 27, 2009 even though I regularly clear my browser history… the data was retained.

No doubt you have seen perhaps more than once the pop-up notifications upon longing into your Google and You Tube accounts advising you that Google has gone to a single ‘Terms of Service’ across their services platforms.

Read Google’s Terms of service here:

As I have read the traditional news and blogs on this topic I note that there are a few people on the extreme ends of the spectrum with the majority solidly in the middle. What are the extremes? On the one end are those fearing “big brother is watching us’ and on the other end those who have no concern regarding their online privacy.

I personally feel that prudent care to ensure that you are comfortable with the exposure of your information and Google’s ability track your data is advisable. I am not an alarmist and I love using the wide variety of products provided by Google. I strongly feel that web security should be in the control of the user and it appears that Google has created a window of opportunity to allow this to happen.

It is important to note that you have until March 1, 2012 to elect to clear all of your browsing history and / or pause the future collection of the same. In this video Maile Ohye explains what type of information is collected and more.

Deleting your browsing history before March 1st prior to the activation of Google’s new privacy policy will limit their ability to track and record your online search activities and merge those with your profile. It will take you less then 2 minutes to complete these steps and may provide peace of mind if you have any privacy concerns.